Senators Receive Recognition for Ethanol Support

Cindy Zimmerman

Senators John Thune (R-SD) and Amy Klobuchar were recognized for their support of the ethanol industry today with the “Fueling Growth” award from Growth Energy during the ethanol organization’s second annual Legislative Conference in Washington D.C.

According to Growth Energy, the awards are meant to recognize the leadership of policy makers “in fostering our country’s energy independence, through the production and use of ethanol as a fuel to displace foreign oil.” Senator Thune is pictured here receiving the award from Growth Energy co-chairman Jeff Broin of POET. In the photo below, Sen. Klobuchar poses with members of Growth Energy attending the legislative conference.

“We are grateful for the leadership and wisdom of these leaders,” said Growth Energy CEO Tom Buis. “This award serves as a reminder of our gratitude, and our continuing efforts to make this country’s national security and economic security stronger through a robust and viable alternative, renewable fuels industry. With their votes and actions in Congress, and their leadership within the administration, these individuals demonstrated loyalty and devotion to the cause of American energy independence.”

The two senators jointly sponsored a bi-partisan effort earlier this year that would have generated $2.5 billion in deficit reduction by reforming the ethanol tax credit and investing in renewable fuels infrastructure. Growth Energy also honored Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack with a Fueling Growth award.

Ethanol, Government, Growth Energy