Senate Resolution Opposes EV Tax Credit Rule

Cindy Zimmerman

Senator Deb Fischer (R-NE) is one of six Senators who joined to introduce a resolution of disapproval last week opposing the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s final rule implementing the 30D Clean Vehicle Credit for electric vehicles with batteries containing Chinese sourced materials like graphite. The resolution was sponsored by Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV), Chairman of the U.S. Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, and co-sponsored by cosponsored by Sens. Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), and Mike Braun (R-IN).

“President Biden wants to prop up America’s transition to EVs by keeping Chinese graphite flowing into the United States. As usual, China will profit richly off the administration’s ‘green’ energy dreams. If Joe Biden wants to force EVs on Americans, he should at least find another source of graphite,” said Senator Fischer.

A similar resolution is expected to be introduced in the House.

Electric Vehicles