States Attorneys General Push EPA for Response on E15

Cindy Zimmerman

A bipartisan coalition of seven Attorneys General sent a letter last week to EPA Administrator Michael Regan urging the Biden Administration to follow the law and respond to the request of their Governors and issue regulations allowing the sale of year-round E15 ethanol gasoline in their respective states. The letter was signed by the Attorneys General of Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Federal law permits governors to request that the EPA issue the regulations allowing E15 and requires the EPA to issue the regulations within 90 days. The governors made the request on April 22, 2022, but the EPA still has not issued the regulation as required by law.

Iowa Attorney General Brenna Bird said the AGs also wrote to Director of Office of Management and Budget Shalanda Young supporting their governors and urging the Biden Administration to comply with the law and issue the regulations allowing E15 this summer.

“It’s time for the EPA to make E15 accessible year-round,” said Attorney General Bird. “Iowa led the nation in establishing an E15 standard. Now, thanks to Governor Reynolds’s leadership, we have the chance to extend the sale of E15 through the summer months in Iowa and other Midwest States. The Biden Administration needs to follow the law and issue these regulations.”

Renewable Fuels Association (RFA) President and CEO Geoff Cooper said it’s been nine months waiting for a response that should have taken 90 days. “Now, with the 2023 summer driving season just around the corner, these states are tired of waiting. It’s past time for the White House and EPA to follow through on the governors’ petition, and we applaud these attorneys general for their efforts to break the logjam.”

E15, EPA, Ethanol, Ethanol News, Renewable Fuels Association, RFA