Eight Midwest States Request Permanent E15 Waiver

Cindy Zimmerman

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds and seven other Midwest Governors sent a joint letter to EPA Administrator Michael Regan Thursday formally requesting a permanent Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP) waiver that will allow each state to continue selling E15 year-round without restriction. The federal Clean Air Act gives governors the specific authority to make this formal request.

Joining Gov. Reynolds were Pete Ricketts of Nebraska; JB Pritzker of Illinois; Laura Kelly of Kansas; Tim Walz of Minnesota; Doug Burgum of North Dakota; Kristi Noem of South Dakota; and Tony Evers, Wisconsin. The eight states account for over 10 percent of U.S. gasoline use – a market larger than California.

“These governors should be applauded for pursuing a simple regulatory solution that will allow consumers in their states to benefit from E15’s lower cost and lower emissions 365 days a year,” said Renewable Fuels Association President and CEO Geoff Cooper. “Once this notification is approved by EPA, it will mean lower pump prices for drivers in these eight states, lower tailpipe pollution, a more secure energy supply, and a more vibrant rural economy. These states have guided the way forward on E15, and we call on other states and the EPA to follow their lead, so that the benefits of E15 can be permanently enjoyed by drivers across the nation.”

The recent announcement suspending allowing summer sales of E15 only applies to the 2022 summer driving season so this action would create a permanent waiver for year-round sales of E15 in perpetuity for those eight states.

E15, Ethanol, Ethanol News, Renewable Fuels Association, RFA