Scholarship Winners Network at Ethanol Conference

Cindy Zimmerman

Jean Claude Mbarushimana, Daehwan Kim, Traci Menke, Bill Pracht, Geoff Cooper, Jessica Sodeke, Justin Diehm

The Renewable Fuels Foundation (RFF) allowed several young people in the ethanol industry to attend the annual National Ethanol Conference (NEC) this year.

Those receiving scholarships included Jean Claude Mbarushimana, a Virginia Tech graduate student studying agricultural and applied economics and several members of the Renewable Fuels Association Young Professionals Network including Daehwan Kim, an Assistant Professor of Biology at Hood College; Justin Diehm, Commodity Manager at East Kansas Agri-Energy; Traci Menke, Executive Assistant at Renewable Fuels Nebraska; and Jessica Sodeke, Ethanol Program Manager at Nebraska Ethanol Board.

“We were happy to see such a positive response to our call for applications and we are impressed by the caliber of these seven young men and women,” said Bill Pracht, chairman of RFF and CEO of East Kansas Agri-Energy.

Mbarushimana, who is from Rwanda, was thrilled with the chance to attend the conference this week. “I’m meeting different people who are innovating in the industry,” he said. “It’s a great networking opportunity.”

Jean Claude Mbarushimana, NEC scholarship winner (2:49)

2022 National Ethanol Conference Photo Album

Audio, Ethanol, Ethanol News, National Ethanol Conference, Renewable Fuels Association, RFA