Iowa Renewable Fuel Marketing Awards Presented

Cindy Zimmerman

Ron Burmeister with Iowa 80 (left) and Joel Hirschboek with Kwik Trip accept awards from Iowa Agriculture Secretary Bill Northey

Kwik Trip, Inc. and the Iowa 80 Truckstop in Walcott are the 2018 winners of the Iowa Agriculture Secretary Bill Northey’s Ethanol and Biodiesel Marketing Awards. The awards were created by the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship to recognize fuel marketers that have gone above and beyond in their efforts to promote and sell renewable fuels.

“Kwik Trip and the Iowa 80 Truckstop have both made marketing renewable fuels a central part of the business and it is great to recognize the commitment and investment they have made to do it successfully,” Northey said. The winners were announced and recognized during the Petroleum Marketers & Convenience Stores of Iowa Annual Meeting in Des Moines this week.

Kwik Trip, Inc, is winner of the 2018 Secretary’s Ethanol Marketing Award Kwik Trip, Inc. currently has 25 locations in the state of Iowa selling E15 and 25 locations selling E85. Iowa 80 Truckstop in Walcott is the winner of the 2018 Secretary’s Biodiesel Marketing Award. Iowa 80 Truckstop has offered biodiesel since 2002, which makes this the 15th anniversary of their program.

And, yes, Bill Northey is still Secretary of Agriculture for Iowa, over four months since he was nominated to be USDA Under Secretary of Agriculture for Farm and Foreign Agricultural Services and there is no word on when the Senate will be able to move forward since Sen. Ted Cruz put a hold on his confirmation over the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS).

Biodiesel, biofuels, Ethanol