Senators Introduce Fuel Choice Bill

Cindy Zimmerman

Both houses of Congress have now introduced a bill that would give consumers more choices at the pump.

U.S. Senators Sam Brownback (R-KS) Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Susan Collins (R-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Joseph Lieberman (I-CT), and John Thune (R-SD) are all co-sponsoring the Open Fuel Standards Act, introduced this week in the Senate. A similar bill was introduced in the House last month. Versions of the Open Fuel Standard Act introduced in the 110th Congress drew substantial bipartisan support.

“The Open Fuel Standards Act is an important step toward making our nation energy independent,” said Sen. Brownback in introducing the legislation. “Giving drivers more choices at the gas pump will ultimately increase the supply of available transportation fuels, while at the same time lowering the overall cost to consumers.”

Starting in 2012, the OFS Act will require 50 percent of new automobiles be flex fuel vehicles able to operate on gasoline, ethanol, and methanol or diesel or biodiesel. Starting in 2015, that number will be raised to 80 percent.

Biodiesel, Ethanol, Government