Ethanol and IRL Honored

Cindy Zimmerman

EPIC Award For their efforts in promoting the use of ethanol in racing, the Indy Racing League and the Ethanol Promotion and Information Council received the 2007 Akerman Senterfitt Ethanol Innovator in Sports Award from the newly formed InterAmerican Ethanol Commission.

The IndyCar Series will begin using 100% fuel-grade ethanol in the 2007 racing season, which begins at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Saturday March 24.

During the commission’s kick-off event in Miami this week, Jorge Arrizurieta of Akerman Senterfitt and Florida Governor Jeb Bush presented the award to Mike Ringham, Vice President Marketing for the IndyCar Series and Tom Slunecka, Executive Director of EPIC.

Pictured left to right are Arrizurieta, Ringham, Slunecka and Governor Bush.

EPIC, Ethanol, Indy Racing, International, News