Paul Dana Awards

Cindy Zimmerman

Indiana Lt. Gov. Becky Skillman honored the first three recipients of the Paul Dana Leadership in Biofuels Awards on Aug. 28 in a ceremony at the Indiana State House.

The recipients of the 2006 Paul Dana Leadership in Biofuels Award are Kellie Walsh, executive director of the Central Indiana Clean Cities Alliance; Dr. Mike Ladisch, a professor at Purdue University who directs the school’s laboratory of renewable resources engineering; and Jon Lantz, vice president of supply and marketing for Countrymark Coop. Pictured with the winners are Skillman and Indiana Agriculture Director Andy Miller (on either side of Kellie Walsh).Dana

The award, announced during 90th Indianapolis 500 activities in May at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, was named in memory of Indy Racing League IndyCar Series driver and biofuels advocate Paul Dana. Notice that the awards are replicas of Dana’s helmet in the photo.

“Paul Dana was a man who understood the incredible upside to the development and use of biofuels,” said Skillman. “He could see the many benefits biofuels offer to our nation, to our environment and to our farmers. He used his position and energy to make great strides in this area. The three individuals we honor today are examples of the dedication and vision that marked Paul Dana’s life and legacy.”


(Winners photo from Ron McQueeney Indy Racing League)

Ethanol, Indy Racing