ACE Applauds Governors for #E15 Support

Joanna Schroeder

ACE logoSeven governors have sent a bipartisan letter to the EPA asking the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to “remove a significant regularly obstacle that is preventing large-scale availability and use of E15 and mid-level ethanol blends.” In response, the American Coalition for Ethanol (ACE) thanked the legislators.

According to ACE, they actively encouraged the governors to sign onto the letter. Governors Terry Branstad (R-Iowa), Sam Brownback (R-Kansas), Mark Dayton (D-Minnesota), Jay Nixon (D-Missouri), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebraska), Jack Dalrymple (R-North Dakota), and Dennis Daugaard (R-South Dakota) sent the letter to EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy today asking her to “correct the unfair Reid vapor pressure (RVP) treatment of E15.”

EPA’s refusal to allow E15, a fuel with fewer evaporative emissions than straight gasoline or E10, to be used from June 1 to September 15 in many parts of the country because of an outdated Reid vapor pressure (RVP) rule is the primary hurdle to more widespread use of the fuel,” said ACE Executive Vice President Brian Jennings. “We applaud these seven governors for urging EPA to extend RVP relief to E15 and higher blends and we will continue to ask Congress to provide for a legislative remedy in the face of EPA inaction.

For more on RVP and ethanol blends, click here.

ACE, E15, Ethanol, politics