Open Fuel Standard Act Introduced

Cindy Zimmerman

U.S. Senators Sam Brownback (R-KS), Ken Salazar (D-CO) and Joseph Lieberman (I-CT) today introduced the Open Fuel Standard Act.

The legislation would require that half of all new automobiles starting in 2012 be flex-fuel vehicles warranted to operate on gasoline, ethanol, and methanol, or be warranted to operate on biodiesel. The requirement would be increased to 80 percent by 2015.

Open Fuel press conferenceNational Corn Growers Association Vice President of Public Policy Jon Doggett spoke during a press conference Tuesday to introduce the bill. “The Open Fuel Standard Act is an important piece of legislation,” said Doggett. “Flex-fuel vehicles are aptly named because they give consumers a choice. Corn producers are committed to producing more corn on fewer acres using better technology to achieve the goals of the Open Fuel Standard Act.”

Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and John Thune (R-SD) are also co-sponsoring the bill. Also joining the senators to introduce the bill were representatives from the Set America Free Coalition, National Association of Wheat Growers and the Methanol Institute.

Pictured from left to right are: Sen. Salazar, Sen. Lieberman, Jon Doggett, and Sen. Brownback. (photo from NCGA)

Ethanol, Flex Fuel Vehicles, Government, News